Husband of Paris attack victim sends ISIS a defiant message: You will not have my hatred

  • The grieving husband of a massacre victim posts a powerful message to ISIS
  • He says he will not allow her wife’s death to sow fear into their young son’s heart
  • His wife is among the 89 people killed inside the Bataclan theater on Friday evening

A grieving husband of one of the victims in the Friday night violence in Paris has sent the Islamic State a message of defiance after losing his wife to the bloody terror attack.

 

Antoine Leiris, a journalist at France Bleu, has declared that his wife’s death shall never be a reason for him and their 17-month-old baby to cower in fear of the terror group; no matter how devastated he is over her gruesome fate.

In a moving Facebook post “You will not have my hatred”, Leiris poured out his heart, but warned the perpetrators he will not let them win by allowing him and his son to hate them.

“Friday night, you took an exceptional life — the love of my life, the mother of my son — but you will not have my hatred. I don’t know who you are and I don’t want to know, you are dead souls. If this God, for whom you kill blindly, made us in his image, every bullet in the body of my wife would have been one more wound in his heart,”Leiris wrote in French.

While addressing the letter to an unnamed second person, Leiris was obviously referring to ISIS who has claimed responsibility for the attack that killed 129 people.

“So, no, I will not grant you the gift of my hatred. You’re asking for it, but responding to hatred with anger is falling victim to the same ignorance that has made you what you are. You want me to be scared, to view my countrymen with mistrust, to sacrifice my liberty for my security. You lost,” the Frenchman said.

Leiris wife, 35-year-old hair and makeup artist Helene Muyal-Leiris was among the 89 concert-goers who were massacred by gunmen inside the Bataclan theater.

Screenshot of Leiris' Facebook post

“I saw her this morning. Finally, after nights and days of waiting. She was just as beautiful as when she left on Friday night, just as beautiful as when I fell hopelessly in love over 12 years ago. Of course I am devastated by this pain, I give you this little victory, but the pain will be short-lived. I know that she will be with us every day and that we will find ourselves again in this paradise of free love to which you have no access,” the bereaved husband said of his lost love. (Click here to read more)

Leave a Reply

